Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

IPB

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Arthur, in memorium ~ villanelle(ish), urgently in need of crits
Guest_Toumai_*
post Dec 2 05, 06:24
Post #1

A very dear family friend passed away this week. With him will have passed away a wealth of rural knowledge. When I was about twelve I used to help him and his wonderful wife, Olive, on their small farm and I leant to hand milk their Guernsey cows, recognise fox and badger tracks, lay a hedge and so much more. Their influence on my life and love of nature was huge.

Olive has asked my father to read one of his poems at the funeral next week, but he is poorly, so has asked me to do so. "What am I reading?" I asked. "I haven't written anything suitable," he said, "So perhaps you could have a go?"

Rather nervously, this is my first attempt: I would like very severe crits, please, as if it is too trite or unsuitable I will fall back on reading "real" poetry (Thomas Hardy, Dad suggests).

I know I have tweaked the form a little; that is intentional.

Arthur, In Memoriam ~ villanelle

Arthur, we will always hold you dear
for all you gave to us in life so bright
and find in daily life that you are near

with words remembered in our ear
reminding us of warm delight.

for joy you shared in Nature’s sphere;
badgers watched in summer twilight;
and find in darkness you are near.

Your patient kindness no mere
front; no need to make a fuss or fight.

for laughter flowed from your good cheer;
mind of mirth and wise insight.
We find in life your wisdom near

that within our hearts will help us steer
a course through life blazed by your light.
and know your spirit will be near.

© Toumai, 2005

+Quote Post  Go to the top of the page
Guest_Nina_*
post Dec 2 05, 07:48
Post #2

Hi Fran

I'm very sorry for the loss of your dear friend, Arthur.  My condolences to you, your family and Arthur's family.  I hope too that your father is soon well again.