Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

IPB

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> I write with my eyes closed
Guest_jackthrockton_*
post Jan 26 10, 10:31
Post #1

Hello all,

I am a novice poet, but experienced writer. I have authored two books, hundreds of articles, and thousands of totally and completely forgettable corporate works. While my passion has been in prose, I have found of late an abiding interest in poetry.

As a newbie, I have no style as yet. I'm exploring different forms and pushing myself to simplify my work, as my poems are sometimes too subtle to many who read them. I write with my eyes closed most of the time. When I write non-fiction, my eyes are open. But in poetry, they are always closed. I use sounds of words and parts of words to generate the lines. Sometimes, the sounds are very clear and the words follow accordingly. Other times, I hit a wall. I hear nothing, see nothing and write nothing.

Of the 20 or so poems I have written so far, I can pick out the one line in each that people will comment on most. I love feedback of all kind, good or bad, if given with honesty but without cruelty. Some critics, I have found, offer very constructive analyses; others seem more intent on reconstruction.

I look forward to participating in the forum.

+Quote Post  Go to the top of the page
Larry
post Jan 26 10, 11:47
Post #2

Creative Chieftain

Group: Gold Member
Member No.: 446
Writer of: Poetry & Prose
Referred By:Just wondered in.

Hi Jack,